Presentation
You are here: Home \ Presentation

Bacterial resistance to Antibiotics represents a major public health problem.

The epidemiology of enteric bacteria including E.coli is changing rapidly due to global spread of a resistance mechanism called extended spectrum beta-lactamase (ESBL), responsible for resistance to almost all penicillins and cephalosporins, and associated with 75% resistance to quinolones, 67% to cotrimoxazole, and 30 to 50% to aminoglycosides.

 

The main phenomena causing this problem include:

– Selection pressure by antibiotics, due to their use in humans or animals;

– Hand-borne transmission via the digestive reservoir (feces);

– Easy spread of a resistance mechanism in Enterobacteriaceae due to transferable genetic information (plasmid).

 

This situation is even more worrying since the pharmaceutical industry invests little in research on new antibiotics. Several studies have reported a recent increase in morbidity and mortality due to therapeutic deadlock related to resistance.

In Nice, epidemiological data from the Hospital and the main city microbiology laboratories show that 4 to 12% of E.coli bacteria found in urine samples are now classified as ESBL which reflects national data. In countries where there is no control of antibiotics use, and the level of hygiene is precarious, 40 to 60% of strains are multi-resistant. Our PACA (Provence Alpes Côte d’Azur) region is particularly exposed and vulnerable because of tourism and its location as the nations’ Southern border.

These strains are often identified in the hospital setting but the majority of carrier-patients are found within the community and have major risk factors: age, recent antibiotic use, diabetes, kidney failure or recurrent urinary tract infections and travel in high risk endemic areas.

Awareness of this epidemic is lacking both among the community and in hospital settings. Microbiological diagnosis of ESBL is explicitly codified but certain medical laboratories are not aware of the necessity to rapidly report resistance mechanisms. This has led us to  organize a warning  system for physicians in charge of ESBL-infected or carrier patients. Practitioners often feel helpless when confronted with an antibiotic susceptibility test  calling for  unfamiliar patient management. Patient Information on how to limit the spread of these germs is also still rare.

Carbapenems are the antibiotics advocated in case of ESBL. However, the necessary but unfortunately often excessive use of carbapenem antibiotics in health care facilities or severe conditions currently leads to the emergence of resistance mechanisms, the carbapenemases, posing a major therapeutic problem. This is furthermore complicated by the need to apply hygiene measures and drastic isolation.

In this context, we organized a collaborative regional network of 6 city hospitals:  Nice University Hospital, outpatient clinics and private practices of the PACA East (Provence Alpes Côte d’Azur) region, and major medical laboratories. This multidisciplinary network (infectious disease physicians, microbiologists, hygienists, pharmacists) named Réso Infectio PACA Est, decided to pool its epidemiological data and to standardize its microbiological diagnosis procedures, therapeutic protocols and information transmission.  A common tool to treat ESBL-patients was created, the ESBL TOOL-KIT.

The “ESBL TOOl-KIT” includes:

– A patient information sheet for carriers of multi-drug resistant (MDR) bacteria  , developed by AzurClin and CCLIN.

– Treatment protocols including a version for outpatients and another for hospitalized patients.  ESBL management guidelines are also available on the SPILF website since June 2014.

– A check-list of procedures to be carried out by the patient’s attending physician. One is intended for ambulatory care and includes the telephone number of the hospital infectious disease specialist, another is intended for healthcare institutions.

– A standard letter template providing information to the patient’s physician.

All healthcare partners thus take part in a common procedure: once the microbiological diagnosis is established, the patient’s attending physician is alerted and is offered the tool kit.

– To this day, very few countries have published guidelines or reference treatment for ESBL infections (French recommendations on urinary tract infections treatment, including ESBL, were only published on 01.06.2014 by the French Society for Infectious Diseases: (SPILF).

– All health professionals involved follow the same procedure: once the microbiological diagnosis is established, the physician in charge of the patient is alerted and provided with the ESBL Tool-KIT.

A study in 2012 in Nice University Hospital of showed improvement in the management of ESBL patients in terms of processing information to the physician and applying hygiene measures and quality of treatment. The ESBL-TOOLKIT also proved to be effective in applying the accurate ICD-code and thus justifying the daily cost increase of an ESBL-infected patient due to isolation and hygiene measures. Another study in outpatient clinics and private practices in the community showed that GPs’ use of the ESBL-TOOLKIT improved antibiotic use and prescriptions.

These results have encouraged us to create this internet version of the ESBL TOOL-KIT to make it available to all health professionals and also to patients in order to provide them with information concerning hygiene measures.

This approach meets the objectives of quality and safety of care, and is in line with the French national alert plan on Antibiotics and its three strategic themes: improving patient management, preserving the effectiveness of existing antibiotics and promoting research.

Department of Infectious Diseases
PR Pierre Marie Roger
PR Pierre Marie Roger
DR Véronique Mondain
DR Véronique Mondain
Auteur du projet
Microbiology
PR Raymond Ruimy
PR Raymond Ruimy
DR Nicolas Degand
DR Nicolas Degand
Référent BLSE
Hygienic Service
DR Thierry Fosse
DR Thierry Fosse
Pharmacy
DR Florence Lieutier
DR Florence Lieutier
Référente Antibiotherapie
Département de santé publique
PR Christian Pradier
PR Christian Pradier
Nos partenaires

Présentation
You are here: Home \ Présentation

La résistance des bactéries aux antibiotiques constitue un problème majeur de santé publique.

L’épidémiologie des entérobactéries et notamment des Escherichia coli est en train de changer rapidement avec la dissémination mondiale d’un mécanisme de résistance de type Béta-lactamase à Spectre Etendu (BLSE), responsable d’une résistance à presque toutes les pénicillines et céphalosposrines, et qui s’accompagne dans 75% des cas d’une résistance aux quinolones, dans 67% au cotrimoxazole, et dans environ 30 % des cas aux aminosides.

Les principaux phénomènes à l’origine de ce problème sont :

– La pression de sélection exercée par les antibiotiques, dans leur usage chez l’homme ou l’animal ;

– La transmission manuportée via le réservoir digestif (péril fécal) ;

– La facilité de diffusion du mécanisme de résistance au sein des entérobactéries, liée à un support généique transférable (plasmide).

Cette situation est d’autant plus préoccupante que l’industrie pharmaceutique investit peu dans la recherche sur de nouveaux antibiotiques. Plusieurs études font état d’une augmentation récente de la morbi-mortalité en raison d’impasses thérapeutiques liées à la résistance.

A Nice, les données épidémiologiques issues du CHU, ou des principaux laboratoires de microbiologie de ville attestent que 4 à 12% des E.coli isolés des prélèvements urinaires sont maintenant BLSE, ce qui est identique aux données nationales, mais dans les pays où il n’y a pas de maîtrise de l’utilisation des antibiotiques , et où le niveau d’hygiène est précaire, de 40 à 60% des souches sont multirésistantes. Notre région PACA est particulièrement exposée du fait du tourisme et de son ouverture au Sud.

Ces souches sont souvent révélèes à l’hôpital mais la majorité des patients porteurs se trouvent en ville, avec comme facteurs de risque principaux, l’âge, la prise récente d’antibiotiques, notamment de céphalosporines et de quinolones, un terrain diabétique, d’insuffisance rénale ou d’infections urinaires à répétition, les voyages dans les pays à risque.

La prise de conscience de cette endémie est insuffisante tant en ville qu’à l’hôpital. Le diagnostic microbiologique est codifié mais certains laboratoires de biologie médicale ne sont pas sensibilisés au rendu des mécanismes de résistance ou à organiser l’alerte au médecin traitant du patient, et les praticiens sont eux même désarmés devant ces antibiogrammes ne leur permettant pas une prise en charge habituelle de leurs patients. L’information des patients sur les moyens de limiter la dissémination de ces germes est encore rare.

En établissement de soin et lors de pathologies sévères, l’utilisation nécessaire mais aussi excessive des carbapénèmes, antibiotiques de référence hospitalier pour traiter ces bactéries BLSE, aboutit actuellement à l’apparition d’autres mécanismes de résistance, les carbapénèmases, posant des problèmes thérapeutiques majeurs, compliqués par la nécessité d’appliquer des mesures d’hygiène et d’isolement drastiques.

Dans ce contexte, nous nous sommes organisés en un réseau de collaboration ville-hôpital régional, qui rassemble avec le CHU de Nice, 6 hôpitaux généraux, les principales cliniques de PACA Est, et les principaux laboratoires d’analyse médicale. Ce réseau multidisciplinaire (infectiologues, médecins, microbiologistes, hygiènistes, pharmaciens) nommé RésO infectiO PACA Est, a décidé de mettre en commun ses données épidémiologiques , d’homogénéiser ses pratiques de diagnostic microbiologique, et a créé un outil partagé   de prise en charge des patients, le KIT BLSE.

Ce Kit comprend:

– une fiche d’information patient BMR, produite par AzurClin et le CCLIN,

– des protocoles thérapeutiques avec une version pour les patients ambulatoires et une autre pour les patients hospitalisés, sachant  qu’un référentiel thérapeutique sur les BLSE vient d’être publié sur le site de la SPILF en juin 2014*.

– une check-list des actions à mener par le médecin prenant en charge le patient. Il en existe une pour la médecine ambulatoire, comportant le numéro de téléphone du « conseil en infectiologie » du CHU ou du référent de l’établissement, et une pour les établissements de soins.

– Une lettre-type d’information pour un médecin correspondant.

L’ensemble des acteurs participe à une organisation identique : une fois le diagnostic microbiologique posé , le médecin en charge du patient est alerté , et le KIT lui est proposé .

Une étude en 2012 au CHU de Nice à montré l’amélioration de la prise en charge des patients colonisés ou infectés par une entérobactérie BLSE sur le plan du traitement, de l’information au médecin traitant et du codage du séjour de ces patients qui justifient des ressources importantes.

Une autre étude faite en ville  a montré que l’utilisation du KIT permettait d’améliorer les prescriptions antibiotiques des patients (cf onglet travaux du RéSO) et que cet outil était très apprécié des médecins utilisateurs.

Ces résultats nous ont encouragés à réaliser cette version internet du KIT BLSE afin de le mettre à disposition de l’ensemble des professionnels de santé, ainsi qu’à donner des informations aux patients sur les règles d’hygiène.

Cette démarche s’intègre dans un objectif de qualité et de sécurité des soins, et dans l’esprit du plan national d’Alerte sur les Antibiotiques dans ses trois axes stratégiques (renforcer l’efficacité de la prise en charge des patients, préserver l’efficacité des antibiotiques existants, promouvoir la recherche).

*La SPILF (Société de Pathologie Infectieuse de Langue Française), vient de publier le 01062014, les recommandations de traitement des infections urinaires communautaires de l’adulte avec un chapitre consacré au traitement des BLSE.

Service d'infectiologie
PR Pierre Marie Roger
PR Pierre Marie Roger
DR Véronique Mondain
DR Véronique Mondain
Auteur du projet
Service de microbiologie
PR Raymond Ruimy
PR Raymond Ruimy
DR Nicolas Degand
DR Nicolas Degand
Référent BLSE
Service d'hygiene
DR Thierry Fosse
DR Thierry Fosse
Pharmacie
DR Florence Lieutier
DR Florence Lieutier
Référente Antibiotherapie
Département de santé publique
PR Christian Pradier
PR Christian Pradier
Nos partenaires